Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join SEM
Sound Matters: The SEM Blog
Share |

The Society for Ethnomusicology is pleased to announce Sound Matters: The SEM Blog. Hosted on the SEM website, the blog offers content on a variety of subjects related to music, sound, and ethnomusicology. We seek lively and accessible posts that provide both stimulating short-form reading for ethnomusicologists and outreach to readers beyond the academy. We encourage authors to consider this forum a unique opportunity to transcend the boundaries of traditional print journals with brief works that integrate hyperlinks and multimedia examples. All content will be peer-reviewed.

Sound Matters: The SEM Blog

Editorial Guidelines

Posts may follow any recognized editorial standards. The Editor, in consultation with the Advisory Board if necessary, may choose to make minor alterations in matters of style when it seems that our readers will be better served. Specific guidelines are as follows:

· Posts may be up to 1000 words, in English.

· Post titles should indicate content as succinctly as possible.

· Submissions previously published only on the author's personal blog will be considered.

· Manuscripts should be submitted to the Editor, James R. Cowdery, at jcowdery@rilm.org as email attachments in Microsoft Word; please include an abstract in the email text.

· Visual illustrations, including musical examples, must be jpg files.

· Sound illustrations must be mp3 files.

· Video illustrations must be mp4 files or videos hosted online with embedding codes (e.g., those on YouTube). 

· All illustration files submitted must be under 30MB each in size.

· Suggestions for tags are welcome; these should be general categories, not personal names or other more specific information. Tags serve two purposes: linking posts on related topics and adding keywords not already in the text.

Editorial Advisory Board

The Sound Matters Editorial Advisory Board is tasked with broad issues such as establishing these guidelines, and stands ready for consultation on any matters that the Editor deems beyond the realm of peer review. The Board is chaired by the Editor. The current members are:

James R. Cowdery, Chair ( Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale/RILM)
Nilanjana Bhattacharjya (Arizona State University)
Rachel Colwell (University of California at Berkeley)
Sandra Graham (Babson College)
Frederick Moehn (King's College London)

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't joined SEM yet?

Latest News