Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join SEM
SEM Diversity Action Committee Programs
Share |

In May 2013 the SEM Board of Directors and the Diversity Action Committee initiated four new programs to increase diversity within the Society. These programs include a Book Subvention Program; an Annual Meeting Subvention Program; a Mentoring Program; and a "Day of Ethnomusicology” Program, in which members of the Diversity Action Committee and the Education Section curate a day at the SEM Annual Meeting for a small group of students from a high school in the vicinity of the meeting site.

The Diversity Action Committee includes Deborah Wong (chair), Kevin Fellezs, Victoria Levine, Sarah Morelli (Section on the Status of Women representative), Sister Marie Agatha Ozah (Crossroads Committee representative), Tes Slominski (Gender and Sexualities Task Force representative), and Tim Taylor. The Day of Ethnomusicology is coordinated by Patricia Shehan Campbell, Ramona Holmes (Education Section Chair), and Sarah J. Bartolome (Education Section Chair-Elect).

For more information and application guidelines, see:

Book Subvention Program

Annual Meeting Subvention Program

Mentoring Program

Diversity Action Program Subcommittees for Review of Applications

Book Subvention Review Subcommittee
Kevin Fellezs (Chair), Chris Scales, Patricia Tang, Deborah Wong (ex officio)

Annual Meeting Subvention Review Subcommittee
Marie Agatha Ozah (Chair), Ana Alonso-Minutti, Don Niles, Deborah Wong (ex officio)

Mentoring Review Subcommittee
Victoria Levine (Chair), Michael Largey, Portia Maultsby, Deborah Wong (ex officio)

Book Subvention Program Awardees

2014. Michael Birenbaum Quintero. Rites, Rights and Rhythms: A Genealogy of Musical Meaning in Colombia's Black Pacific.
2013. Noriko Manabe.The Revolution Will Not Be Televised: Music, Media, and the Antinuclear Movement in Post-Fukushima Japan.

Annual Meeting Subvention Program Awardees

2014. William Alexander Blue V.
2014. José R. Torres-Ramos.
2014. Hadi Milanloo.
2013. Allie Martin.
2013. Guillermo Rosabal-Coto.
2013. Yun Emily Wang.

Mentoring Program Awardees

2014. Sunmin Yoon. Mentor: Su Zheng.
2013. Yawen Ludden. Mentors: Ellen Koskoff and Su Zheng.
2013. Timothy Mangin. Mentor: Portia Maultsby.
2013. Susan Taffe Reed. Mentor: Victoria Levine.



Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't joined SEM yet?

Latest News