/
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join SEM
Search
News: Educational Opportunities

University of Maryland graduate programs

Thursday, December 1, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Marysol Quevedo
Share |

Applications for Admission: University of Maryland, College Park, School of Music Ethnomusicology and Musicology Graduate Programs Deadline December 1 for Fall 2017 (later applications may still be considered)

To apply: musicadmissions@umd.edu

Note that we offer a total of 17 teaching assistantships with tuition waiver, 2 years for the M.A. and 4 years for the Ph.D.

The ethnomusicology program is part of the Division of Musicology and Ethnomusicology, one of seven Divisions within the School of Music

Our Faculty: 

Ethnomusicology

Fernando Rios, frios@umd.edu: Latin American indigenous, folkloric, and popular music, music and political movements, folklorization and nation-  building, transnational circulation of musical styles, historical ethnomusicology

Nicholas Tochka, visiiting faculty, ntochka@umd.edu: popular, traditional, and art music in Europe and the Americas, the politics of music-making since 1945

J. Lawrence Witzleben, Coordinator of Ethnomusicology Program and World Music Ensembles, jlwitz@umd.edu: Chinese instrumental performance, music of Southeast Asia, music and film, popular music studies, and the reception and transformation of ethnomusicology in Asia and elsewhere

Robert C. Provine, Emeritus, provine@umd.edu: Korean traditional music, historical ethnomusicology

(A search for a Tenure Track Assistant Professor in ethnomusicology is currently in progress, and the new faculty member will join the program in Fall 2017.)

Musicology

Jason Geary, Director, School of Music: Mendelssohn, Wagner, Richard Strauss, German reception of classical Greece in music

Barbara H. Haggh-Huglo, Division Coordinator, haggh@umd.edu: Western chant and liturgy, medieval and Renaissance music, source studies

Olga Haldey, Director of Graduate Studies, ohaldey@umd.edu: Russian music after 1800, opera and ballet, early modernist philosophy and aesthetics, intersections between music, literature, and the visual arts, music criticism, Igor Stravinsky

Richard G. King, rgking@umd.edu: eighteenth-century music, historical performance, popular music

William Robin, wrobin@umd.edu: contemporary classical music, early American hymnody, public musicology

Patrick R. Warfield, Associate Director, Academic Affairs, pwarfiel@umd.edu: American musical culture, music in Washington, D.C., the American wind band tradition

Richard Wexler, Emeritus, rwexler@umd.edu: music of the Renaissance in France, Beethoven, jazz in New York City 

Degree Programs

Master of Arts in Ethnomusicology, Master of Arts in Music History & Literature, Doctor of Philosophy in Ethnomusicology, Doctor of Philosophy in Musicology

For more information, please visit:

www.music.umd.edu

www.music.umd.edu/divisions/musicology_and_ethnomusicolog


Sign In


Forgot your password?

Haven't joined SEM yet?

Featured News